History of the SMS laboratory

The SMS laboratory “Sciences et Méthodes Séparatives » (Separative Sciences and Methods) EA3233 (formerly UPRES EA2659) was created in 1998 by Prof. Gerard COQUEREL, under the supervision of the University of Rouen (Normandy, France). Originally, the laboratory was hosted at the “Institut de Recherche en Chimie Organique Fine (IRCOF)” at Mont Saint-Aignan and was composed of three teams: UC2M2 (“Unité de de croissance cristalline et de modélisation moléculaire”) headed by Prof. Gérard COQUEREL, the Chromatography team headed by Prof. Jean-Claude COMBRET, and the Capillary Electrophoresis team headed by Prof. Paul-Louis DESBENE. Today, the SMS laboratory is at the 3rd floor of the BLONDEL building of the Mont Saint-Aignan Campus and is headed by Prof. Gérard COQUEREL, seconded by Prof. Pascal CARDINAEL. The laboratory has two teams: the crystallogenesis unit, headed by Prof. Samuel PETIT since 2015 and the chromatography team, headed by Prof. Pascal CARDINAEL since 2011.